Jesus My Father and My God

 

Isaiah 9:6 says:

 

For a child is born to us,
a son is given to us.
The government will rest on his shoulders.
And he will be called:
Wonderful Counsellor,[a] Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

 

I believe that the greatest gift ever given was Jesus. Today as we celebrate the day he was born I want to look at certain aspects that I sometimes forget about him. The scripture says that government will rest on his shoulders.

 

As I walk in this world as a Christian I sometimes forget that he has all power and authority. Governments run and rule all aspects of a geographical area, they govern a land. I give my life over to the governance of Jesus.

 

He should rule and reign in all aspects of my life, even when I disagree with what he is doing. I can disagree a lot with what he is doing in my life, if I don’t let him have his way then I am doing it myself. If I am doing it myself then I will find it difficult to see Jesus doing anything in my life. Today I want to allow him to have full governance of my life.

 

Jesus was born so that I would surrender to him as I had made a mess of my life. He needs to take full control and make the major decisions in my life. I just need to trust and follow him.

 

The scripture also says he will be called wonderful counsellor; that is he counsels me from all the pain and trauma that I have given myself. When I lived under the control of the old governor all he wanted to do was kill, steal and destroy me.

 

 

Jesus was born to give me life and life in all its fullness. Today I can receive this life that comes from him, that is streams of living water springing up from within my heart.

 

Firstly I must get rid of my old mindsets that are my old thoughts. I need to believe that Jesus does in fact love me the same as anybody else; and that he also wants to bless me the same as everybody else.

Jesus came to rescue me from my old mistakes that is to redeem me from there effects. He wants to show me where all the inner pain came from and bring healing to my spirit.

 

He also came as a Mighty God. That is the king of all kings and the Lord of all Lords. He came to rule and reign with complete authority. What he says goes. I sometimes think that my mistakes are too big for God to sort out, all that means is that my mistakes are too big and God too small in my head. The reality is that the God who throw the stars into space, created both the heavens and the earth, he also created me and you. Yet my mistake last Tuesday is too big for him to sort out.

 

Jesus also came as the Everlasting Father. Jesus and Father God are one. If you have children and they asked you for something what would you give them? If your child came crying to you for help would you refuse? Sometimes I think I can’t go to Father God for help simply because I think he won’t.

The reality is that he loves me so much he sent his Son to die for me, simply because he never wanted to see me punished. That is true love.

 

He also came as the Prince of Peace. In the past deep down I never felt as if I had any peace; I was to full of fear, anxiety and hopelessness. Jesus came to exchange this for peace that is his peace.

 

Today as we come to celebrate the birth of Jesus we also need to remember exactly who he is. I need to live my life in Christ Jesus not in myself.

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

