Entering the Promised Land

Pray.

 

Today I want to do something a bit different. I am going to look at Joshua and the calling on his life. Then I am going to open the meeting up for people to share about the hope for next year. I also want to share about what the Lord has done so far in our lives.

]

Deuteronomy 3:28

28 Instead, commission Joshua and encourage and strengthen him, for he will lead the people across the Jordan. He will give them all the land you now see before you as their possession.’

The Father had commissioned Joshua to take the people across the Jordan into the Promised Land.

 

You and I also have been commissioned into our Promised Land. It is important that I fully understand that even though I have been called of God to enter into the Promised Land I am not actually standing in that Land until I go forward with God.

 

Joshua needed to be encouraged and strengthened in order to carry out his commission. You and I also need strengthened and encouraged to carry out our commission, which is to live fully in the land of Promise.

 

Hebrews 3:6

But Christ, as the Son, is in charge of God’s entire house. And we are God’s house, if we keep our courage and remain confident in our hope in Christ.[a]

You and I can only live with courage if we believe that Father God is in complete control of our lives, that is that he is in complete control of my entire life. Jesus lives inside of you that make you God’s House. He is in complete control of our entire future.

 

Colossians 1:11

11 We also pray that you will be strengthened with all his glorious power so you will have all the endurance and patience you need. May you be filled with joy,[a]

You and I are strengthened with his glorious power so that we can get through the times when we need to endure. That is through the times when things seem to be going wrong. At these times I need to remember that he is in charge of this house.

 

I will also have patience and joy if I continue to let him be God in my life, which is let him be the almighty creator, who is in control of everything and is above everything.

 

The verse starts with we also pray. When I pray then I open up myself to receive his blessings. Prayer is the only thing that keeps the lifeline open to receive all that Father God has for me.

 

If I was to go into the depths of the sea as a deep sea diver, and never had the line going from the oxygen tank to myself then I would surely die. If I want to go into the depth of life with Jesus then I need to keep the connection with him as he is the giver of life.

 

Only prayer will unlock the door to your future life in the Promised Land. Prayer is the lifeline between you and Almighty God.

 

Matthew 7:7

Effective Prayer;

“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.

Only prayer opens the door.

 

In order for Joshua to take his people into the Promised Land, as was his commission. He had to ask the person to purify themselves that is they consecrated themselves to Almighty God. They became set apart for Father God

 

Joshua 3:1-5

Early the next morning Joshua and all the Israelites left Acacia Grove[a] and arrived at the banks of the Jordan River, where they camped before crossing.Three days later the Israelite officers went through the camp, giving these instructions to the people: “When you see the Levitical priests carrying the Ark of the Covenant of the Lord your God, move out from your positions and follow them. Since you have never traveled this way before, they will guide you. Stay about half a mile[b] behind them, keeping a clear distance between you and the Ark. Make sure you don’t come any closer.”

Then Joshua told the people, “Purify yourselves, for tomorrow the Lord will do great wonders among you.”

Paul also asks us to purify ourselves by getting rid of the old sinful nature.

 

Romans 8:12-14

12 Therefore, dear brothers and sisters,[a] you have no obligation to do what your sinful nature urges you to do. 13 For if you live by its dictates, you will die. But if through the power of the Spirit you put to death the deeds of your sinful nature,[b] you will live. 14 For all who are led by the Spirit of God are children[c]of God.

Father God created us with free will which means that we have the freedom to live as the old man or the new man. The New Man is the man of promise.

 

Therefore to enter into the Promised Land I need to put to death all the deeds of the sinful nature. That is to live 100% for Father God.  For all who are lead by the Spirit of God are Children of God

 

The Children of God will be known by their fruit

Matthew 7:20New Living Translation (NLT)

20 Yes, just as you can identify a tree by its fruit, so you can identify people by their actions.

It is our actions that give away if we are Children of God or not as we are displaying fruit. In order to know what I should be like I need to know what the fruits of the Spirit are.

 

Galatians 5:22-23

22 But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!

 

Therefore to live by the Spirit is to produce this fruit. The question is how can anyone live like that?

 

I believe that Father God sets things up to show me the fruit that is being produced, for example if I meet someone who I don’t particularly like then this shows me that I need to get closer to Father God.

 

It is only when I get closer to Father God, through the Holy Spirit that I produce good fruit. Therefore if I am being led by the Spirit then I will produce this fruit which is love.

 

Therefore the next time I meet them I will be much closer to the Father that I will love them. If I do that for all the Fruits of the Spirit then I open myself up to become a Child of God.

 

The final question is how do I get closer to the Father?

It is only through prayer.

 

Prayer opens up the road to the Promised Land; that is the land of blessings. If I don’t pray I don’t produce fruit.

 

Matthew 13:22

22 The seed that fell among the thorns represents those who hear God’s word, but all too quickly the message is crowded out by the worries of this life and the lure of wealth, so no fruit is produced.

I have freewill to lay my life down to produce fruit or to take it and be troubled with the cares of this world.

 

Pray

 

 

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

