My Dad

I have been thinking very much about my growing up family. I grew up in a family with my mother and father and two sisters. I had a normal family in many ways and chaotic in other ways. During my childhood my Dad and myself were very distant from each other; lived in the same house but had no real heart to heart connection.

I started drinking at 14 and was an alcoholic by the time I was 18, the legal age to drink. This made the relationship between my father and myself even more strained. After years of drinking I ended up in a rehab ran by YWAM. I left rehab and got married soon after.

After getting married I moved to Troon in Ayrshire. My Dad had cancer for a few years and was taken into hospital. Deep down I never coped very well with this situation and just pretended that nothing was wrong. I was deeply hurting inside and never knew how to deal with my inner pain.

He died in July 2000.

I never cried at the time as I tried to put on a mask of being able to cope. One day I realised that I loved my Dad and missed him very deeply. I lived in the same house as him for 20 or so years and never knew him.

I have learned a lesson in life to always tell people you love them while they are still here.

I do not want to spend years in God’s house, the church, and end up not knowing who Father God actually is. I want to build a deeper relationship with the father as at times it can be very distant.

Today I will start to build a deeper relationship with Father God before it is to late.

Will you spend time with Father God today?

Will you go deeper with Him starting today?

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

