Hiding behind the wall of self protection

One of my favorite books in the bible is Song of Songs. In chapter two the lover comes bounding over the mountains; right up to the beloved who is hiding behind a wall.

Throughout my life there have been many times where I have been deeply hurt. The deeper our relationship is with the person then the deeper the hurt. The deepest wounds come from our own families or people we have been romantically connected to.

I have built a wall round myself to protect me from further hurt. Nobody gets near me as the wall is so deep, if people get to know me they might not like me. These thoughts reinforce the wall.

In front of my wall is rejection, fear, insecurity and low self esteem.

These are the hills that the Lover is climbing over in order to get near to my heart. Hearing Him call me terrifies me as that means He wants a relationship with me.

In my head relationship equals hurt.

I want a relationship without the pain.

Today I have a choice I can remain behind my wall and be distant from Him, or I can trust that He will protect me instead of the wall. That equals full relationship with Father God.

Today I choose to stop hiding behind my wall.

Will you come out from behind your wall today?

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Hope for tomorrow and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hiding behind the wall of self protection

  1. The Mount says:

    I love this book too. Thank you for writing about it, it is often missed. And in answer to the question, I will try and with Him I shall succeed. God bless x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When we come out from behind our wall we can be in complete oneness with Jesus. Bless You

    Like

Leave a Reply

