safely in arms of Jesus

Today I want to tell a story about a friend of mine; that is my side of the story. Liz will tell her side of the story when she writes it out for me.

I grew up in the Robertland in Stewarton which was just a normal Scottish housing scheme. My back door had a garden and a couple of gardens along was Liz and her sister Tracey.

I used to talk to Liz every time I saw her. I was about 12 when I moved into the house behind Liz. I remember going up to her house on a Friday with a carry out when her Mum and Dad were out.

The years passed and I cant recall seeing Liz again. I know if I did and can’t remember it as I had become an alcoholic. The years passed by.

I ended up in a rehab and married to Trish. It was a Christian discipleship place. I moved to Troon and ended up running Overcomers ¬†Outreach. One day I said I can’t remember the eighties and had no friends left from then.

The next Sunday I was in Kilmarnock at a meeting. Outside the door was two women. One said to me ‘Hi Richie’ I just looked. She said ‘it’s Liz Tracey’s sister’. She had become an alcoholic.

We kept in touch. Then I got a phone call to say Liz was in hospital and almost dead. She was on life support and unconscious. Trish ans I went to see her. Liz looked dead already . It was a very hard moment for me. Liz couldn’t talk.

We prayed out loud. A tear ran down her cheek.

Today we went to see Liz. She has ended up in a rehab in Manchester. She is clean and sober thanks to Jesus.

I am so happy for Liz as she is like a sister to me.

She said she would write down her story for this blog.

Thanks for reading.

Bless You.

Richard (Ritchie)

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to safely in arms of Jesus

  1. When Jesus steps in fear walks out …….. Heartwarming Story Richard thanks for sharing it.

    Many Blessings and much Joy in the Love and Wonder of Christmas – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

