Road to Faith Riverside 5

My whole focus at High School was alcohol. I wanted to taste it’s sweet relief ( it seemed like that at the time). I had a friend called Billy Paton who’s brother drove for Riverside Rolls. Billy got me a weekend ‘van boy’ job where I worked a Saturday and Sunday.

I got paid on a Saturday and bought cans of Lager. I went to school Monday to Friday and worked the other two days. I was going to Auldgirth to visit my gran now as I just wanted to drink. Every school holiday I would just work, inside this made me feel guilty and ashamed. It was already beginning to damage my relationships with family members. I was always annoyed and angry.

When I was in the later years of High School my gran from Auldgirth died. At the funeral the minister always referred to her death as a ‘Victory’ this made me very confused, how could death be a victory.

A few months later my gran from Stewarton died. I was neither up nor down unlike my other Gran.

In my final year of High School I was missing school and working almost every day, my school work was suffering. Out of ‘work’ my only mates were other drinking associates. here I was 16 years old and already working to pay for my alcohol.

I then got a job as an Apprentice Brickie (bricklayer) this was an awful job but the money was excellent. I was heading for Alcoholism before I had reached the legal age to drink.

I was asked to a meeting by Scott. At that meeting I got a taste of real Victory.

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Christian, faith, Freedom, Hope for tomorrow, Inner conflict, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Road to Faith Riverside 5

  1. As we know Robert It is so easy to get into Addiction, my Gambling consumed me throughout my life, at times I thought I had the Victory but than it would get hold of me again, it was a real bondage until I had True Heart Repentance and I was than delivered of it by The Lord, that was over 25 years ago, NOW I HAVE FREEDOM! Thankfully it is a past memory, I hope drinking is for you too Robert.

    Christian Love and Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t believe I did that, so sorry Richard, I promise I will get it right next time, it’s late in Aussie Land but I wanted to read your Post and some others before I went to bed but I’m sleepy.

    Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Anne I have been free from addiction for 25 years. I just wanted to share my journey to try and produce faith in others. Jesus takes me through testing times to kill the old self and live only in the new creation.Richard

      Like

      • God does not put us to hard testing Richard that’s what Satan does, we do reap the evil we sow though and others can hurt us too. The way God molds and shapes us is by giving us opportunities to choose to walk in the Fruit of The Spirit by His empowering which puts the Carnal flesh to death as we Aim to be Perfected in Love.

        If you would like the Scriptures Richard that confirm these Truths please let me know. What some forget is God does not do evil to bring good out of it , to say even believers do is slander. For God to deliberately hurt us is evil and He is Love and can do No Evil.

        Blessings – Anne.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Anne for your feedback. I am now making the correct decisions that lead me into a deeper walk with the Holy Spirit. Blessings Richard

        Like

Leave a Reply

