Road to Faith. Running to Iona. (11)

I panicked inside when they left for the Jesus Army. I never trusted them as a group so never followed Martin and Lynette. I had major trust problems with everybody though I never knew that at the time. I wanted to run to a safe place.

A Christian place.

I had heard of the Iona Community on the Isle of Iona. Iona is a small island of the West coast of Scotland. It was 1 mile wide and 3 miles long. I heard about some Christian kids who went there when I was young.

I applied to work there. They accepted.

I was terrified when I left for 4 weeks initially. It took hours to get there by train, 2 ferries and a bus. It was a beautiful place. I was broken inside but was trying to find inner sanity.

I was introduced to Ally Hallett who would be my supervisor while I was a volunteer. Ally was great with me as I had become a housekeeper. I got on that well with her that I stayed for 5 months. For the first time in my life I felt like I belonged.

A woman came to volunteer from Perth Australia. Her name was Dianne Trenaman I got to know her really quickly. I fell in love with her. We left Iona together and ended up in Belfast. I felt loved and felt accepted for the first time in my life.

There was only one problem.

Dianne was heading back to Perth in a few months.

That fateful day came. it completely broke my heart. I never wanted her to leave. I wanted things to stay exactly as they were. Happy, Safe and Secure or so I thought.

I waved her away on the train.

I cried and cried inside and outside.

What next?

 

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Christian, faith, Freedom, Inner conflict, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

