A New Day Dawns

I had no idea how significant this day was going to be. At first it seemed just the same. OH no another day of this chaos. I had arranged to be picked up by Lynette to go to Church. I felt so ashamed and guilty that I never wanted to go.

I tried to go back to sleep.

I couldn’t.

Them a whisper in my mind, ‘get up go to church and tell them you are an alcoholic.’ I knew this still small voice was God. I went and got washed, dressed. My lift arrived.

I sat in the car.

Lynette asked ‘how are you today?’

I replied ‘I think I am an alcoholic.’ She replied ‘That’s great Ritchie (that was my name when I was drinking. That’s a story I have still to come to!!!). You should speak to Avril.’

I spoke to Avril who shouted ‘ Praise Jesus I have been praying for this day!!!! I’ve known for years. Try and not drink today and I will take you to a meeting tonight’.

I went to the AA meeting. I heard people telling others about the same pain I had. A slogan on the wall said ‘You need never drink again.’ I never did drink again.

AA taught me how to take a day at a time as well as supported me through the first few weeks. I am forever grateful that Avril took me there and Jesus had a plan in place when I screamed out for help.

The only problem was after a few weeks people from AA told me to leave the Church.

I loved Jesus and knew he had finally called me out of my Egypt. I would never leave Him. Not this time.

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Christian, faith, Freedom, Hope for tomorrow, Inner conflict, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Day Dawns

  1. Yes I found the same Cleavinghearts with G.A, it was all about self but not so originally, The 12 Steps were written by a Christian Pastor but Bill came along and wanted to make it more people friendly so he deleted Jesus and replaced Him with a god of our own understanding.

    So yes you are so right Cleavinghearts, Jesus is the only way to overcome Addiction, it has been over 25 years since I was delivered by Jesus but I was tempted by Satan when walking passed a Hotel about 4 years after but I asked Jesus to help me keep walking and He did and I have no interest in gambling today.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

