First real steps in walking the walk

I had spent a few weeks now without anything, that is any alcohol. I understood exactly who my Lord and Saviour was. Jesus Christ died to set me free from the chains that bound me up for years.

I knew that I had to get the basics right so I prayed every day, read scripture every day and kept away from alcohol. As long as I did these things I knew that Jesus would walk with me.

I had feelings that I never recognised as I had spent most of the last years drunk. I had to learn to hand these over to Jesus and not pick them back up. Everyday seemed long but I knew deep down I belonged to Jesus and that someday I could walk fully in His ways.

I was told about an AA group that was Christian, they spoke openly about Jesus and handing our life over to Him. I ended up with a sponsor called Rab who was a Spirit Filled Christian. he helped me walk the walk.

I decided to leave AA and just go to Church. Most people in the Christian AA meeting went to the same Church as me, I just never knew it, I am still in touch with some of these people today.

I told AA I wasn’t going back to there meetings, they kept phoning me. I was told that if I never kept going to AA I would never keep off Alcohol.

I have been 25 years sober not because of AA but because of my relationship with Jesus Christ. He was the God of my understanding.

After a few months of sobriety I met a man called Paul who was a strong Christian. he opened up the door for me to fully understand the Love of Jesus.

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Christian, faith, Freedom, Hope for tomorrow, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

