Do you want to be remembered?

I was having a conversation this morning that made me think. There were 3 of us in the room, we had chatted about the usual stuff. One person in the room is getting married in August. They are in the middle of the preparations.

Yesterday was a bank holiday in Scotland so they (the two people to be married) were moving their belongings into a lock up to store it until they get married. The woman is a Christian so wants to be faithful to her beliefs. The man isn’t a Christian.

The conversation in the house was about belongings, if they were to throw out a lot of stuff they might not be remembered. The stuff that they wanted to keep was sentimental and they would be remembered by ‘the stuff’.

The person they were marrying didn’t need any stuff as they have kids and would be remembered by them. It made me think!!!!

Have I been collecting stuff so that I can be remembered when I pass away. Many times as Christians the present ‘earthly’ life is more important than the life to come. Many people in the bible are remembered because of what God done through them. Abraham, Moses, Joshua and of course Jesus.

Perhaps for me it is laying down my life and let Jesus rule and reign in me. It is about what we do for Jesus that counts. Today I will think about the junk that I am collecting and ask myself one question, WHY?

Am I prepared to dump the junk?

Are you prepared to get rid of your junk or do you want to be remembered through it?

About cleavinghearts

I go to church in Troon Scotland. I want to see men from every nation rise up in Christ and be who they are called to be. I am interested in men getting together to praise and just do men's things. I also want to see women rise above their pain and turmoil so they are free to follow Jesus without the hindrances of their past.
This entry was posted in Christian, faith, Freedom, Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

